States In Canada: List of Canadian Provinces & Territories

States In Canada: List of Canadian Provinces & Territories. Canada consists of 13 political divisions: 10 provinces and 3 territories. The territories are Northwest Territories, Nunavut and Yukon.

States In Canada: List of Canadian Provinces

This is a list of Canadian provinces and territories by area. Canada has ten provinces and three territories. In total area, Canada is the second-largest country in the world; in land area, however, it ranks fourth. In terms of freshwater area, Canada is the largest country.

See Also: Canada Visa Application | How To Apply (Full Guide)

The nation of Canada isn’t divided into states like the United States or India. However, it is divided into sub-national governmental areas known as provinces and territories. There are a total of 10 provinces and three territories in the country. The difference between territories and provinces lies in how the power and authority is delegated. The governmental power and authority of provinces comes from the Constitution Act of 1867. Governmental powers of territories are designated through the Parliament of Canada.

Each province is considered to be sovereign and has its own representative of the Canadian monarchy. These representatives are known as lieutenant governors. Territories, on the other hand, are not sovereign and have a commissioner. These territories also receive all authority and responsibility from the federal government. As mentioned, there are ten provinces in Canada. These are, in alphabetical order:

See Also: How Much is Canadian Visa Fee in Nigeria

States In Canada: List of Canadian Provinces & Territories

  1. Alberta
  2. British Columbia
  3. Manitoba
  4. New Brunswick
  5. Newfoundland and Labrador
  6. Nova Scotia
  7. Ontario
  8. Prince Edward Island
  9. Quebec
  10. Saskatchewan

See Also: How To Apply For Canada Student Visa From Nigeria

The major difference between a Canadian province and a Canadian territory is that a province is a creation of the Constitution Act (17 April 1982), while a territory is created by federal law. Thus, the federal government has more direct control over the territories, while provincial governments have many more competences and rights.

We Believe This Article Was Helpful, Don’t Hesitate To Share This Information With Your Friends On Facebook, Twitter, Whatsapp and Google plus.
Copyright Warning: Contents on this website may not be republished, reproduced, redistributed either in whole or in part without due permission or acknowledgement. All contents are protected by DMCA.
The content on this site is posted with good intentions. If you own this content & believe your copyright was violated or infringed, make sure you contact us via This Means to file a complaint & actions will be taken immediately.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button